Personal tools



application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document icon Agenda-10-15-11.docx — application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document, 10 kB (11099 bytes)


PDF document icon SineDieDelegationRelease041012.pdf — PDF document, 627 kB (642610 bytes)

2012 Legislative Report Available

Jul 16, 2012

The Prince George's County House Delegation has released its annual report for the 2012 sessions. To download a copy, which includes information on state funding to the county, bills passed by the legislature concerning local law and contact information for your local representative, please visit the "News" section.

2012 Legislative Report Available

The Prince George's County House Delegation has released its annual report for the three sessions held in the 2012 Fiscal Year. The report includes information on the 17 delegation bills passed in the legislature, a summary of state funding for Prince George's County, contact information for all 23 delegation members and information on new legislative maps in the county. An electronic copy of the report is available below:

PDF document icon 2012LegislativeReportEVersion.pdf — PDF document, 2292 kB (2347616 bytes)

Prince George’s Delegation Elects Ivey as Chair

Sep 26, 2012

Members of the Prince George’s County House Delegation on Wednesday elected Delegate Jolene Ivey, D-Dist. 47, as the new chair of the delegation, succeeding Delegate Melony G. Griffith, D-District 25.

“I am honored to have had four years to serve in this capacity, but recognize that others need the opportunity to experience the challenges and rewards of the position,” Griffith said.

The transition continues a tradition among the 23-member group of having its leaders serve no more than two terms. The delegation holds elections every two years, and no person has chaired the group for more than two terms in its 60-year history.

“The citizens of Prince George's County are fortunate to have delegation members in key positions in the state house,” Griffith said. “Together we’ve made great gains in policy and funding on behalf of the citizens of Prince George’s County.”

During her four years as chair, Griffith worked alongside four County Council Chairs, three Senate Delegation Chairs and two County Executives and two school boards. As Chair, Griffith oversaw legislative redistricting and fought successfully to retain a 23-member delegation for the county despite proposals to reduce representation.

The Prince George’s County House Delegation reviewed more than 250 local bills and advocated successfully on behalf of the county for operating and capital budget funding under Griffith’s leadership. During her four years in office as Chair, the state increased funding for K-12 education for the county despite declining student enrollment.

Chair Griffith and the delegation also successfully negotiated a fix to a long-standing formula to address wealth calculations (Net Taxable Income), increasing annual county funding through the state’s disparity grants.

Griffith also celebrated with members a historic 2011 Memorandum of Understanding with the county, state and University of Maryland Medical System to develop an integrated health care delivery system in Prince George’s County.

Ivey was elected in a unanimous vote among members present at a meeting, held in Annapolis on Sept. 26. Delegates Benjamin S. Barnes, D-Dist. 21 and Veronica Turner, D-Dist. 26 were elected 1st and 2nd vice chairs of the group. The new leaders will take office formally on Dec. 1, when the delegation holds its annual public hearing on local legislation at Prince George’s Community College in Largo.

Information on delegation bills, events and future business will be updated on the delegation website.